• darkblurbg
    Canadian Political Science Association
    2019 Annual Conference Programme


    Hosted at the University of British Columbia
    Tuesday, June 4 to Thursday, June 6, 2019
  • darkblurbg
    Presidential Address:
    François Rocher, CPSA President

    Life and Death of an Issue:
    Canadian Political Science and
    Quebec Politics

    Location: CIRS 1250
    Tuesday, June 4, 2019 | 05:00pm to 06:00pm
  • darkblurbg
    Keynote: UBCIC Grand
    Chief Stewart Phillip

    Asserting Indigenous
    Title and Rights in 2019

    Location: CIRS 1250
    June 04, 2019 | 10:30am to 12:00pm
  • darkblurbg
    Keynote Speaker: Wendy Brown
    Max Weber's Provocations,
    Our Predicaments:
    The Politics of
    Knowledge and Power

    Location: CIRS 1250
    Wednesday, June 5, 2019 | 02:00pm to 03:30pm
  • darkblurbg
    Keynote Speaker: Roland Paris
    Canada Alone?
    Surviving in a Meaner World

    Location: CIRS 1250
    Thursday, June 6, 2019 | 10:30am to 12:00pm

Special Events

R10 - Should the CJPS/RCSP Become an Open Access Journal?

Date: Jun 5 | Time: 10:30am to 12:00pm | Location: SWING 121

Chair/Président/Présidente : Martin Papillon (Chair, Joint CPSA-SQSP Committee on the Impact of Open Access on the CJPS [OA-CJPS Committee] | Président du Comité mixte ACSP-SQSP sur l'impact du libre accès sur la RCSP [Comité LA-RCSP - Montréal)

SSHRC recently changed the requirements for applying to its Aid to Scholarly Journals program, one that the Canadian Journal of Political Science/Revue canadienne de science politique has regularly relied on for funding. These changes require that journals move to an open access platform by 2021 to receive grant monies. In light of these changes, the CPSA established a committee to investigate open access and the implications of its adoption for the CJPS/RCSP, and ultimately to make a recommendation to the Boards of the CPSA and SQSP on how to proceed. This panel provides an opportunity for the committee to present the findings of its preliminary report and to obtain feedback from the Association’s members.

Mélanie Bourque (CJPS French Language Co-editor - Member OA-CJPS Committee | Codirectrice francophone RCSP – membre Comité LA-RCSP – UQO Saint-Jérôme)
Alex Marland (Member OA-CJPS Committee | Membre Comité LA-RCSP - Memorial University)
Brenda O’Neill (CJPS English Language Co-editor - Member OA-CJPS Committee | Codirectrice anglophone RCSP – membre Comité LA-RCSP - University of Calgary)
Chris Robinson (Editor, Journals/Éditeur, Revues - Cambridge University Press)

Return to Home